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PURPOSE AND SUMMARY

A local department of social services (LDSS) may, under certain conditions, pay the costs of childcare for
children in care. This policy provides the eligibility and payment guidelines for these payments. Do not
apply this policy to private treatment foster care programs, independent living programs, or
arrangements for informal kinship care. 

RELATED LAWS AND REGULATIONS

As authorized by the Family Law Article, Maryland Annotated Code, DHS operates a foster care system
funded by the state and by the federal government under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act to care for
children who can no longer safely remain in their homes. The federal IV-E program allows the use of
IV-E funds for “daily supervision,” which we know as “childcare,” in circumstances where a caregiver is
not available to provide that care.1 Regardless of IV-E status, Maryland funds this childcare pursuant to
COMAR 07.02.25.09, which requires supportive services, when available, to meet the needs of the
children in care.

DEFINITIONS

Caregiver - An LDSS-approved kinship caregiver or kinship parent2 or foster parent providing 24-hour care
for a child in out-of-home care.  

Child Care - Compensated care provided by any of the following of a child for less than 24 hours a day but
more than episodically:

(a) A child care home registered pursuant to COMAR 13A.15 or COMAR 13A.18;
(b) A childcare center operating under COMAR 13A.16;
(c) A childcare facility operating under a letter of compliance issued under COMAR 13A.17;
(d) Childcare licensed by any branch of the military under applicable military child care regulations;
(e) Childcare operated by a public school; and
(f) A youth camp certified by the Department of Health as defined by Health-General Article Law 
     §14-401 Annotated Code of Maryland.   

Formal Kinship Home - An approved home but not a licensed resource home, following requirements
outlined in 07.02.25.10.

Foster Parent - An individual approved by the local department to provide 24-hour care for a child in care
where the child resides, including family resource parents who are also approved to adopt a child.

Full-time - For employment, an employer determines whether a person is working “full time.” For purposes
of determining whether a combination of work, training, or education is full-time, use as a guide the
Affordable Care Act and IRS definition of 130 hours a month, averaging 30 hours a week.3       
 
Kinship Caregiver - Also known as “fictive kin,” an individual who is related to the child by blood or
marriage beyond five degrees of consanguinity or is a close family friend of the child or the child’s family
and has strong familial or other significant bond with the child or the child’s family sufficient to

3 See 26 CFR § 54.4980H-1(a)(21)

2 This could be a licensed or formal kinship provider

1 See 42 U.S.C. § 675(4); 45 CFR 1355.20
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demonstrate strong familiarity with the child’s activities and daily needs, and where placement is in the
child’s best interests.4

Kinship Parent - An individual who is related by blood or marriage within five degrees of consanguinity to
the child who is in the care, custody, or guardianship of the local department of social services.  

Informal Child Care - Child care for a child in out-of-home care that does not require a provider to have an
MSDE license but is provided by an LDSS-approved individual who is 18 years or older and is limited to child
care that is provided:

● By a relative;
● In the caregiver’s home; or
● For fewer than 20 hours a month on a non-regular basis in the child care provider’s home for

unrelated children.5

Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) - The agency with the responsibility for licensing child
care in Maryland.

PROCEDURES AND TIMEFRAMES 

Eligibility and Funding for Child Care Payments
Pay childcare expenses for a child in care without regard to the caregiver’s income (excluding situations
where care is purchased by an agency or institution outside of Maryland and private treatment foster
care homes) if there is an identified need for childcare services. 

● Use federal IV-E codes to pay for childcare expenses if:
o The child is IV-E eligible;
o The child care provider, as shown by documentation, is a registered and licensed child

care provider6; and
o All caregivers in the home have submitted documentation that they are doing any one

or combination of the following full-time:
▪ Working (full-time as determined by the employer).
▪ Attending school, or 
▪ Participating in training.7

o In circumstances where a caregiver is doing a combination of work, school and training
use federal IV-E codes. Title IV-E staff are responsible for determining if the combination
equates to full-time. Documentation must be uploaded when there is a change in
circumstances. 

● When federal IV-E funds cannot be used for childcare, childcare expenses may still be paid using
state codes if:

o The childcare provider, as shown by documentation, is a registered and licensed
childcare provider8, or is an informal childcare provider as defined above; and

8 Licensed child care providers are listed here. To serve as documentation, capture and upload a screenshot showing the licensed
provider.

7 Documentation used through resource home recons can be used but needs to be uploaded to the child welfare case.

6 Licensed child care providers are listed here. To serve as documentation, capture and upload a screenshot showing the licensed
provider.

5 COMAR 13A.14.06.02B(31) and COMAR 07.02.25.05(C)

4 See Family Law § 5–534

Updated November 17, 2023; Replaces SSA CW 21-06

https://locatesearch.marylandfamilynetwork.org/
https://locatesearch.marylandfamilynetwork.org/
https://dsd.maryland.gov/regulations/Pages/13A.14.06.02.aspx
https://dsd.maryland.gov/regulations/Pages/07.02.25.05.aspx
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o The LDSS and the caregiver have agreed that there is an identified need for childcare
services.

Applications for Child Care Expenses 
Regardless of IV-E eligibility: 

● In response to a signed application or an oral request, discuss and document the caregiver’s
childcare needs in the electronic system of record;

● When applicable, obtain documentation of work, training, or school hours and upload them into the
electronic system of record. Additionally, inform the caregiver of their responsibility to notify the
department of any changes to their work, training or school hours; and

● Document the agreement to pay childcare and upload to the electronic system of record any
authorized application and relevant documents that show proof of eligibility;

If a child is not eligible for IV-E child care payments and the caregiver would qualify for the MSDE Child
Care Scholarship, you may:

● Refer the caregiver to the MSDE Child Care Scholarship Family Portal to apply for a childcare
scholarship; 9 

● Request that the caregiver advise you if MSDE approves the scholarship; and
● Use state funds as you would for any non-IV-E child until the scholarship becomes active and,

once active, pay the difference between the scholarship and the reasonable cost of childcare.

Rate of Payment and Cost Guidelines
● Discuss the amount of the child care payment with the caregiver. 
● Pay the current rate set by MSDE for center or home childcare scholarships in the region where

the child will be receiving childcare by utilizing:10

o 2194 – For IV-E eligible children placed in licensed regular or restricted resource homes;
o 7194 - For non-IV-E children placed in licensed regular or restricted resource homes; or
o 7195 –For non-IV-E children and IV-E eligible children who are placed in a formal kinship

home.
● The LDSS may use available flex funds to cover the cost above the MSDE rate by utilizing:

o 2132 – For IV-E eligible children placed in licensed regular or restricted resource homes;
o 7132 – For non-IV-E children placed in licensed regular or restricted resource homes; or
o 7193 – For non-IV-E children and IV-E eligible children who are placed in a formal kinship

home.
● Review the amount of the childcare payment with the caregiver when there is a change in the

cost of childcare or a rate change by MSDE. 
● Reimburse caregivers for deposits necessary to reserve a childcare space for a child in care. 
● For youth camps, where the MSDE rates have no applicability, agree on a reasonable rate with

the caregiver.
● When you receive a provider’s invoice for childcare, authorize payment and submit the invoice

to the LDSS finance office for processing.

10 MSDE sets weekly rates for child care services (CCS) in each of 7 regions in Maryland. The monthly rate is determined by taking
the weekly rate for the region and multiplying it by 4.3 (the number of weeks in a month) and rounding that amount to the nearest
whole dollar. When agreeing to a child care rate, confirm the current MSDE rates. Consideration of an outdated MSDE rate is not
grounds for an automatic recalculation.

9 An MSDE child care scholarship is primarily income-based. You should encourage families to consult the MSDE website to quickly
determine possible eligibility.

Updated November 17, 2023; Replaces SSA CW 21-06

https://family.childcareportals.org/s/?language=en_US
https://earlychildhood.marylandpublicschools.org/node/801
https://earlychildhood.marylandpublicschools.org/node/801
https://earlychildhood.marylandpublicschools.org/child-care-providers/child-care-scholarship-program
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● In individual circumstances, you may agree to have the caregiver pay the invoice directly and,
based on an invoice or receipt, reimburse the caregiver directly. 

In general, if a child is absent for more than five days in a month (excluding days when the childcare provider
was closed or when the child was not scheduled to receive care or if the absences are due to illness), it is
important to have a conversation with the caregiver to assess whether there is still a need for childcare
services.

Payment to a Caregiver with Whom a Child is Placed who also Operates a Child Care Home that the
Child in Care Attends
A caregiver who operates a family childcare home may be eligible for childcare expenses if:

● The caregiver is operating a family childcare home registered pursuant to COMAR 13A.15 or .18;
● Operating the family childcare home is full-time employment; 
● In a home with two caregivers, the caregiver who is not the childcare provider is employed,

attending school, or participating in a training program; 
● The children for whom childcare expenses are sought and the hours of attendance would make

the caregiver eligible for childcare expenses were the children to be receiving child care outside
the home; and 

● Caring for the children in care in the family childcare home would result in the caregiver being
unable to accept one or more children into the family childcare home for paid care due to
applicable capacity limits.

Pay the current rate set by MSDE for center or home childcare scholarships in the region where the child will
be receiving childcare by utilizing:

● 2194 – For IV-E eligible children placed in licensed regular or restricted resource homes;
● 7194 - For non-IV-E children placed in licensed regular or restricted resource homes; or
● 7195 –For non-IV-E children and IV-E eligible children who are placed in a formal kinship home.

The LDSS may use available flex funds to cover the cost above the MSDE rate by utilizing:
● 2132 – For IV-E eligible children placed in licensed regular or restricted resource homes;
● 7132 – For non-IV-E children placed in licensed regular or restricted resource homes; or
● 7193 – For non-IV-E children and IV-E eligible children who are placed in a formal kinship home.

Alignment with Practice Model and Desired Outcomes

This policy allows for collaboration with caregivers to meet the individual needs of children. Caregivers
may choose childcare providers that meet the family’s expectations to provide a safe,
trauma-responsive environment that promotes child well-being.

FORMS

The use of these forms is optional. If you choose not to use the forms, supporting documentation must be
noted or uploaded into the electronic record system. The supporting documentation must include:

● Documentation of work, training, or school hours when applicable;
● Agreement to pay for childcare (this can be either the agreement form or documented in a contact

note); and
● Invoices.

Child Care Application

Updated November 17, 2023; Replaces SSA CW 21-06

https://earlychildhood.marylandpublicschools.org/node/801
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1u8w6rNE3qsYxLl1LdOZFkUR3k-rk6Oys/view?usp=drive_link
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You may use this form to document requests for payment of childcare services. The caregivers must submit
proof of their work, training, or school hours regardless of whether they submit a written application.

Upon receiving this form, determine whether Title IV-E funds may be used to pay childcare expenses. 

Child Care Payment and Service Agreement
This agreement may be used to set out the responsibilities of the parties to ensure payments and continuity
of childcare services.  

Child Care Provider Invoice
As documentation of childcare services, request that the childcare provider: 

● Complete the attached invoice form for each child and submit it to the LDSS weekly or monthly; or
● Use an already established invoice system.

Upload all documents into the electronic system of record under the appropriate drop-down label.

Updated November 17, 2023; Replaces SSA CW 21-06

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1tF3MmiJKZ_gPPkyrdPSJuvrnc3Ty4cXu/view?usp=drive_link
https://drive.google.com/file/d/15cGshnx5VV2x6L5KCi4PI9PcIe3KU-la/view?usp=drive_link

